Trying another MOOC: Open education #h817open

openness connection by psd, on FlickrWith work being very busy my best efforts to try and participate in the EDCMOOC didn’t really go to plan and I only managed to watch a few of the YouTube videos in week 1 and didn’t have time to catch up.  I’ve had a similar experience with the MIT MOOC on Learning Creative Learning, engaged for the first couple of weeks but then dropped off again through generally being busy and away.  So maybe it’s crazy to have signed up for another MOOC, but I have.  This time it’s the Open University MOOC on Open Education #h817open.So why I have signed up for another MOOC?  In part this MOOC appealed to me because there’s the possibility of earning open badges for some of the learning activities.  Badges are something I’m keen to explore further in relation to my own work with students and their involvement as producers of learning resources.  I’m also interested in adopting a MOOC type approach to delivering staff development around technology enhanced learning and so experience of another MOOC is helpful.  Even just dabbling and lurking in some MOOCs has been worthwhile and the MOOC I did complete on Google Power Searching has proved very useful. I’m hoping that I can last the course this time and earn my #h187open badges!

I’m off to a reasonable start and have completed one of the first week’s tasks, creating a visual representation of the key concepts of openness in education as we see them.  My approach to this has been to think about what open education means to me and its impact on me as a teacher and a learner.  Personally I feel that open education has opened up new opportunties to connect with people and learn from their experience as they’ve shared what’s worked and what hasn’t.  It’s challenged me to see things in new ways, to try out new things, it’s inspired me.  I’ve connected with people I would otherwise never have met and had opportunities to work and collaborate with them that wouldn’t previously have been possible.  This has been facilitated by technology but ultimately this isn’t about technology but about the individuals who’ve chosen to share and be open scholars.

I created my visual artefact in Haiku Deck on my iPad and unfortunately I can’t embed it on a worpress.com blog so  you’ll have to follow the link below to see what it looks like!

HAIKU DECK – OPENNESS IN EDUCATION

Image credit
Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License  by  psd 

8 comments

  1. Hi Natalie – I really like your visual presentation (content resonated strongly with my own feelings and experiences of open learning, and i like the way youve presented it – will definitely explre Haiku deck)

    1. Thanks Pauline! It’s the first time I’ve used Haiku Deck, easy to use and hopefully in time WordPress will support embeds.

    1. Thanks Deborah! I found LCL a bit of struggle to relate to my own context in higher education which may be didn’t help, but there are some things that I’ve taken from it in particular the creative learning cycle. It’s an approach I’ve adopted but have seen more as an agile approach to developing new content and technologies to support learning. Helpful that I can now talk about it more educational lingo.

  2. I’ve had a similar experience with MOOCs Natalie – my good intentions to finish seem to be overtaken by life commitments. Love your Haiku Deck, which I’ve not heard of but am now interested to try. Good luck with the rest of the course.

    1. Thanks Rebekah, thankfully we’re not alone, looks like there are quite a few of us who’ve started with good intentions and not been able to keep up. We must have that google hangout sometime and have a chat. Maybe after the Easter holidays?

Leave a Reply

