Thinking about Posterous, Friendfeed and Tumblr

Last month Posterous ran a marketing campaign targeting users of Tumblr, Flickr and WordPress, amongst others, trying to tempt them over to Posterous.  Posterous has claimed that platforms like WordPress are dying and that users should make the most of their new import tools and transfer their blogs over to them.  The tone of Posterous’ campaign come in for some criticism and there was a piece on ReadWriteWeb questioning whether calling out dying platforms was good for Posterous? Another blog onecoolsitebloggingtips posed the question, Preposterous or Posterous?, highlighting that many have not been impressed with ‘the direction the Posterous advertising has gone’.

So will I be moving my blog to Posterous? No I don’t think I will.  I have WordPress, Tumblr and Posterous sites but I use them for different things.  I don’t blog here as often as I would want to, but I like that here on WordPress (WP) I can save drafts of pieces that I’m writing and come back to them.  Maybe I’m missing something on Posterous, but I can’t see an option to save a post as a draft, I seem to have to publish a post as private and then come back to it and then when it’s finished change it to public view.  Posterous is adding new functionality at quite a pace so this may come on stream before too long.

I initially started using Posterous as a bit of an online scrapbook and then started my football blog there and recently I’ve been thinking about whether to move this over to WP.  Perhaps I’m just a creature of habit, but I do prefer using WP and maybe it’s because as I see this as the place to think out loud and places like Posterous as somewhere to aggregate things that I find of interest.  Martin Weller outlined over a year ago on The Ed Techie how he was using Tumblr as a place to dump interesting things he comes across, whilst his blog was the place he thinks things through.  I’ve been using Tumblr in a similar way, it’s the place I post things on the web that I find interesting.  I prefer the Tumblr toolbar bookmarklet to the Posterous one because it gives me  more options including the option to save to draft.  I don’t post much by email, but if I wanted to I can do that with Tumblr too and there’s also a neat little app for the iPhone.  Posterous have made much about the fact that Tumblr doesn’t have comments as standard, but it’s easy to add this by integrating your Disqus account.

Over the past month I’ve been thinking a bit more about how I want to use Tumblr and also taking another look at Friendfeed.  I’ve been following Alan Cann’s pieces about Friendfeed over on his Science of the Invisible Blog with interest and decided it was time to give it another go.  I signed up ages ago but never really got it.  My Friendfeed feed just seemed to be full of people’s tweets, so recently I took Alan’s advice and culled a lot of the people I followed, I unsubscribed everyone that was just publishing their twitter stream as I already see these tweets on Twitter.  The thing now is to find people to follow.  Part of the problem for me seems to be the lack of individuals working in medical education who are active on sites like Friendfeed, Twitter etc.  Whilst I’ve not really started to follow anyone new on Friendfeed I have started to follow some people on Tumblr.  It’s not that easy to find people to follow on Tumblr but I’ve found a few and it’s been interesting to discover information and content that I wasn’t coming across via Twitter or other channels I use.  The one drawback of Tumblr is that you can’t easily comment or enter into dailogue with other Tumblr users because of the lack of commenting as standard, which is a bit frustrating.  You can only comment if people have installed a Disqus account and not many people have done this.

I’ll continue to use Tumblr as my online scrap book and perhaps with time more people might add Disqus so that there can be a bit more discussion which will add further value.  I will also keep checking Friendfeed but I’m still not sure if it’s for me.  More recently I’ve come across Amplify, which seems a bit like Friendfeed and I’d be interested to hear what others think of it and what value they get from using it.  As for Posterous I’ll continue to use it but I don’t think it’s going to kill off WordPress and Flickr.  If the Posterous bookmarklet web posting was more like the Tumblr one and you could save to draft maybe it will give Tumblr a run for its money and I might end up using it more.

5 comments

  1. Another nice feature of Friendfeed is selective hide. If someone is posting good information buried in lots of tweets you don’t want, you can hide just the tweets and never see them.
    My basic rule of thumb for Friendfeed is that the people I follow must be resident, i.e. posting content directly to the site rather than just dumping in content from other services and taking part if discussions there. otherwise they’re just noise.

    1. Thanks for the tip about hiding tweets, I hadn’t realised that. The key thing for me is going to be finding residents in Freindfeed to follow. I just need to invest a bit of time and hunt around.

  2. @nlafferty I came here from searching on Friendfeed and Amplify, and am curious about the choices you’ve made in the 3 months that have passed.

    I’m still active on Friendfeed, and have just signed up on Amplify. My motivation is to find a better way to surface comments on articles, since the notes that I’m leaving with my shared items on Google Reader don’t seem to be surfacing properly.

    I’ve set up a complicated workflow of blogging, microblogging and webstreaming, so the availability of Amplify is something I’m pondering. My current intuition is to go from Amplify to WordPress.com , with Twitterfeed to Friendfeed and Twitter.

    I like that Amplify has plugins for both Firefox and Chrome, (which means potential compatibility with Flock and Rockmelt), so Amplify is living whereas Friendfeed has been stablized.

    I haven’t yet made my first post to Amplify, so we’ll see how it goes.

    1. Thanks for your comment @daviding
      I really haven’t got very far on Friendfeed because I’ve not really found individuals to follow who I don’t already follow on twitter that are sharing anything extra on Friendfeed. I think this to me is the key issue, ensuring that I follow people who are sharing things which are of interest and value to me. I’ve not really had a chance to explore Amplify much either, but hopefully in the New Year I will have the time to look at this and perhaps also look at whether it might work with colleagues too. As you’ve commented, on your own site, the fact that Friendfeed is not being further developed is perhaps a cause for concern, will it suddenly be pulled all together. Amplify on the other hand is still evolving. I think Twitter is a great way of connecting and building a network, I’ve still to develop my network on Friendfeed and Amplify. I’d be interested to hear back from you once you’ve tried Amplify.

Leave a Reply

